Read Trouble on the Books by Essie Lang Online

Trouble on the Books

Essie Langs series debut is perfect for fans of Lorna Barrett, Vicki Delany, and book lovers everywhere.Rookie bookstore owner Shelby Cox must hit the books to learn the ropes before she loses a killer in the stacks.Shelby Cox never intended to become a bookseller, so when the former editor returns to her hometown of Alexandria Bay, nestled in upstate New Yorks breathtaking Thousand Islands region, to take over her aunts bookstore, she has no idea what to expect. To her amazement, she discovers that she now owns a fifty-percent share in Bayside Books, and will also run the stores second location in the majestic castle on nearby Blye Island.But just as Shelby is gearing up for the start of the tourist season, the Castle volunteer coordinator is found murdered in the nearby Grotto. Castle caretaker Matthew Kessler is suspect number one, but Shelby thinks the killing may be connected to an earlier era, when violence among Prohibition-era smugglers was rampant in the region. As Shelby laun...

Title : Trouble on the Books
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 42248352
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 336 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Trouble on the Books Reviews

  • Chris

    After Shelby Cox returns to her hometown in upstate New York, she discovers she owns fifty-percent of her aunt’s bookshop, Bayside Books. She jumps at the opportunity, and soon she’s living in a houseboat and ferrying across the river each day to manage their Blye Island location … that also happens to be inside of a castle. However, just as she’s getting into the swing of things, the Castle Volunteer Coordinator is murdered and fingers start pointing toward the caretaker. But Shelby disagrees, ...more

  • Elle's Book Blog

    Release Date: March 13, 2019

    Genre: Cozy Mystery

    Actual Rating: 3 stars

    Trouble on the Books is the first book in a brand new cozy mystery series! This book features a heroine who has just opened up a new bookstore in her hometown of Alexandria Bay. While this is interesting in itself (us bookworms LOVE bookstores), it's even cooler to see that this bookstore is in a castle! I love stories with original settings and this is exactly what I got with this novel. Aside from the setting I found th
    ...more

  • Emris Lindsay

    Shelby has gotten herself involved in a murder mystery four months after her arrival in Alex Bay, and as luck would have it, there are a lot of interesting scenarios being thrown about by the good folks of the Bay and Shelby herself as to what could have happened and who done it. Now, she has caught the murderer’s attention, Stopping her investigation would be the ideal thing but the murderer has made it personal for her by targeting her, so of course, she cannot quit now. An intense, intriguing ...more

  • Shannon

    I received a copy in exchange for my honest review

    This book started off really well! I enjoyed the setting (read: bookish vibes), the characters, and the pacing. However, I felt like the pacing slowed down after a while. For me, there wasn't enough development of the plot. If there would have been character development it would have been just fine, but that also was lacking in my opinion. Furthermore, there were so many characters, I really had a hard time keeping track of who was who. In the en
    ...more

  • Karen Hollins-Stallman

    Trouble on the Books is a good start to a new cozy mystery series. The premise of the story has promise, and I loved the setting of Alexandria Bay, nestled in upstate New York’s breathtaking Thousand Islands region. With that said I am hoping as the series goes on the author decides to expand on the castle/bookstore element and the quaint seaside town.

    I had a difficult time getting into the book at first but by chapter 10, I finally started to want to know a little bit more and was connecting m
    ...more

  • Jeanie

    What a fabulous start to this new series! This is the first in what promises to be another new favorite series. I very much enjoyed meeting Shelby Cox, her Aunt Edie, the Bayside and their friends in Alexandria Bay and Blye Island, New York. The mystery is a challenge to solve - I certainly couldn't, at least - and the history of the island is fascinating.

    The area of Thousand Islands sounds beautiful, and I love the setting of Blye Castle. Edie's main bookstore, Bayside Books, is on the mainland
    ...more

  • OpenBookSociety.com

    http://openbooksociety.com/article/tr...

    Trouble on the Books

    Castle Bookshop Mystery #1

    By Essie Lang

    ISBN 9781683319818

    lindawiken.com

    Brought to you by OBS Reviewer Jeanie

    Synopsis:

    Essie Lang’s series debut is perfect for fans of Lorna Barrett, Vicki Delany, and book lovers everywhere.

    Rookie bookstore owner Shelby Cox must hit the books to learn the ropes before she loses a killer in the stacks.

    Shelby Cox never intended to become a bookseller, so when the former editor returns to her hometown of Al
    ...more

  • Barbara Tobey

    An interesting location helps propel this book into delightful cozy category. The main characters were people I would like to get to know even better. I look forward to reading the next one. Thanks to the publisher for providing a copy via NetGalley.